This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Statistics  

This is your guide to locating statistical information on the web, in the library, and in library databases. If you are looking for information on the mathematical field of statistics, try the Math Library Guide.
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2014 URL: http://woodbury.libguides.com/statistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Statistics info @WULibrary

In addition to finding statistics online and in library databases, the following books (available in the reference area of the library) may be of assistance to you.

Cover Art
The Who, What, and Where of America - Gaquin; Dunn
Call Number: HA 202 .W628 2014 STACKS (new books for fall, 2014)
ISBN: 9781598887099
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
In the fall of 2013, the Census Bureau released data from the American Community Survey (ACS) one-year (2012) and three-year (2010-2012) estimates for the United States. The ACS replaced the decennial census long form in 2010 and now collects long-form-type information on a continuing basis rather than every 10 years, providing more current data. The ACS provides a regular stream of updated information for states and local areas and has revolutionized the way we use data to understand our communities. It produces social, housing, and economic characteristics for demographic groups.

Cover Art
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2014 - Bernan; ProQuest LLC Staff
Call Number: REFERENCE: HA202 2014
ISBN: 9781598886399
Publication Date: 2013-12-19
Questions come across the reference desk on all topics: How many hate crimes were there in 2008? Are there many book clubs in the U.S.? Do you have the GDP for the U.S. for the past 10 (or so) years? How many people use Facebook? All of these questions can be answered by the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world.

Cover Art
World Development Indicators 2014 - World Bank
Call Number: EBOOK - ONLINE
ISBN: 9781464801648
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
World Development Indicators 2014 provides a compilation of relevant, high-quality, and internationally comparable statistics about global development and the fight against poverty. It is intended to help users of all kinds—policymakers, students, analysts, professors, program managers, and citizens—find and use data related to all aspects of development, including those that help monitor and understand progress toward the two goals. Six themes are used to organize indicators—world view, people, environment, economy, states and markets, and global links.

Cover Art
The Measure of America 2010-2011 - Lewis, Kristen & Burd-Sharps, Sarah
Call Number: STACKS: HN60 .L495 2010
ISBN: 0814783805
"the definitive report on the overall well-being of all Americans. How are Americans doing--compared to one another and compared to the rest of the world? This important, easy-to-understand, illustrated guide will provide all of the essential information on the current state of America."

Cover Art
State Rankings - Morgan, Katheleen O'Leary
Call Number: REFERENCE; HA203 .U18 2010
ISBN: 1604266155
Contextualizes a broad range of quality-of-life data from the fifty states and the District of Columbia. Looks at fifteen livability categories: agriculture, crime and law enforcement, defense, economy, education, employment and labor, energy and environment, geography, federal government finances, state and local government finances, health, households and housing, population, social welfare, and transportation.

Cover Art
The Value of a dollar: prices and incomes in the United States 1860-2009 - Derks, Scott
Call Number: HB235 .U6 V35 2009
ISBN: 1592374034
"The 100 plus tables in this reference list national average wages, investment yields, prices of staple foods per pound, and prices advertised for clothing, appliances, business equipment, education, entertainment, furniture, household products, cars, sporting goods, toiletries, medical products, toys, and travel."

Cover Art
The American marketplace: demographics and spending patterns - New Strategist Publications
Call Number: HA 203 .A635 2005
ISBN: 1885070608
Compiles key data from the US Census, Bureau of Labor Statistics, National Center for Education Statistics, National Center for Health Statistics, and the Federal Reserve Board. Designed to provide statistics as well as the stories behind them.

Cover Art
2009 County and city extra - Gaquin, Deirdre A.
Call Number: HA202 .C68 2009
ISBN: 9781598883275
Provides up-to-date statistical information for every state, county, metropolitan area, city, and Congressional district for all US cities with a 2000 census population of 25,000 or more.

Cover Art
Atlas of Global Development - The World Bank
Call Number: G 1046 .G1 A85 2009 (Reference)
ISBN: 9780821376034
Tracks key development indicators and provides statistics about various countries around the world and their economies

Woodbury Databases with Statistical Information

Several of our library databases and electronic resources may be of use to you in searching for statistics.  Requires a current Woodbury student, faculty, or staff ID for off-campus access.

  • CIA World Factbook in Credo Reference
    "The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for world entities." You can create tables which compare countries of the world side-by-side on a number of variables.
  • RAND State Stats
    California statistics are available in the categories of business and economics, government and finance, education, community, energy and the environment, health and socioeconomics, population and demographics, census, and politics and public opinion. Most data are available at the state, county, city, and zip code levels.
  • CountryWatch
    Provides up-to-date profiles for nearly 200 countries worldwide, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States  Icon
    A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Updated monthly

Finding Statistics Online - General Sources

  • American Factfinder - New Census Data Portal
    This portal allows you to browse results of the US Census for 2000 and 2010.
  • Gapminder
    A nonprofit started in Sweden, Gapminder aims to bring statistics to life - particularly those having to do with sustainability issues. They pull statistics from a variety of sources (which they always attribute), and use their Trendalyzer software to illustrate the interrelation of the information in graphical form. You can download raw statistical data or use their tables. Requires updated version of Flash.
  • Data.gov
    Data sets generated by the executive branch of the federal government. You can download raw data sets in a variety of formats.
  • Mapping the Measure of America
    Created by the Human Development Project. Displays data visually through interactive, color-coded US maps. Includes info on health, education, and income in the US. Requires latest version of Flash.
  • The Complete World Development Report Online
    Published by the World Bank, this is a great source for country research. You can view statistics by geographical region of the world on 21 major topics... from the current year back to 1978. Most information relates to trade, poverty, health, finance, agriculture, and education.
  • MetroTrends
    From the Urban Institute. Provides commentaries and links to data sets on urban life. Also has spotlights on different US urban areas with more thorough coverage. Also great for data visualization.
  • American Community Survey
    Conducted by the Census Bureau, the ACS is "designed to show how people live by gathering data on the demographic, social, economic, and housing characteristics of communities." --Choice Review
  • MMWR: The First 30 Years  Icon
    The first 30 years of the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report from 1952 - 1982. Good for locating historic public health-related statistics
  • The Human Mortality Database  Icon
    Sign up for a free account to download datasets with data about population and mortality for countries around the world.
  • Pew Social & Demographic Trends  Icon
    Provides results from the studies of behaviors and attitudes of Americans in areas including community, family, health, finance, work, and leisure
  • Quick Health Data Online  Icon
    Formerly known as National Women's Health Indicators Database; provided by the US Dept. of Health & Human Services; comprises data indicators of the health of women and minorities in the US - which can be compared across time and geographical areas
  • RWJF DataHub  Icon
    US national and state health stats; data can be browsed by category or indicator; includes interactive data mapping; historical stats back to 2000 are available
  • World Health Organization Global Health Observatory  Icon
    Health-related data and infographics by country, including rates of substance use
 

Searching for Statistics on the Web

When researching online, you may find it helpful to use directory sites.  Directory sites act as search portals, and they consist of sites selected and screened by (usually) subject experts.  It's a great way to search the web while filtering out a lot of "noise."  You will have more success locating statistics produced and gathered by "official" sources when using directory sites as search portals.

One such site is the Internet Public Library.  You can try searching it below.

Also, the Bureau of Labor Statistics maintains a directory of online sources.  

Search the Internet Public Library by entering your search terms in the box below.

Loading

Systems Librarian

Profile Image
Jenny Rosenfeld
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip