This is the "Home" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology   Tags: psychology  

This is your guide to finding psychology resources online and in the library.
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2014 URL: http://woodbury.libguides.com/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Psych Books in the Library

To find more books and videos on psychology at Woodbury, search the library catalog.

Cover Art
APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology - Deborah L. Tolman; Lisa M. Diamond
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781433813696
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The APA Handbook on Sexuality and Psychology marks a turning point in the status of sexuality within the discipline of psychology. This comprehensive, two-volume handbook provides an overarching review of current empirical research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided both research and clinical practice.

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Social Cognition - Donal E. Carlston (Editor)
Call Number: BF323.S63 O94 2013 (Stacks)
ISBN: 9780199730018
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
The 43 chapters included in this handbook cover: - central aspects of the field of social cognition, including its history and historically important foundational research areas (attribution, attitudes, impression formation, and prejudice/stereotyping), along with methodology- core issues relating to social cognitive representations and processes (including those that are visual, implicit, or automatic) and the stages of information processing (attention, perception, memory, and judgment, along with simulation and thought suppression)- applications of the social cognition approach to areas of social psychology, general psychology, and other disciplines, such as marketing, law, health and politics.

Cover Art
Social Psychology of Social Problems - Agnieszka Golec (Editor); Aleksandra Cichocka (Editor)
Call Number: STACKS: HN28 .S624 2013
ISBN: 9780230284753
Publication Date: 2012-11-13
Encompassing contemporary social problems and cutting-edge research, top international experts provide a window into understanding the psychology behind societal problems and why they develop, offering crucial applications of psychological theory for the undergraduate student.

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Media Psychology - Karen E. Dill (Editor)
Call Number: STACKS: P96 .P75 O94 2013
ISBN: 9780195398809
Publication Date: 2012-12-31
The Oxford Handbook of Media Psychology explores facets of human behavior, thoughts, and feelings experienced in the context of media use and creation. Divided into six sections, chapters in this volume trace the history of media psychology; address content areas for media research, including children's media use, media violence and desensitization, sexual content, video game violence, and portrayals of race and gender; and cover psychological and physical effects of media such as serious games, games for health, technology addictions, and video games and attention.

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Psychology - Steve W. J. Kozlowski (Editor)
Call Number: STACKS: HF5548.8 .O94 2012 v.1 and v. 2
ISBN: 9780195342826
Publication Date: 2012-05-21
The 42 chapters of the handbook are organized into 10 major sections spanning two volumes, including such topics imperative to the field as: * the core processes of work motivation, job attitudes and affect, and performance that underlie behavior at work * phenomena that assimilate, shape, and develop employees (i.e. socialization, networks, and leadership) * the challenges of managing differences within and across organizations, covering the topics of diversity, discrimination, and cross-cultural psychology * the powerful influence of technology on the nature of work and work processes.

Getting Started with Psychology Research

You can find books and DVDs related to psychology by searching the library catalog.

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference contains the full-text of 100 reference books - including specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. It's a great place to start if you need help understanding your topic.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Need a book or journal article we don't have? You can request it through interlibrary loan. We will borrow a book or get a copy of an article for you from another library and notify you when it arrives. You can request items by filling out an online form or directly through any FirstSearch database (Worldcat, Eric, ArticleFirst).
  • PsycNet
    PsycNet is a database from the American Psychological Association (APA). It includes citations and full text of book chapters, research articles from journals, conference presentations, book reviews in psychology, and some dissertations.
 

Psychology Reference Books

Here are some great library resources all psychology students should know about!

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 1433805618
The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.

Cover Art
APA Dictionary of Psychology
Call Number: BF31 .A65 2007
ISBN: 9781591473800
A great starting point for understanding new psychology concepts. This comprehensive reference contains 25,000 entries and includes terms and concepts drawn from a diverse range of subject areas, including anthropology, computer programming, molecular and population biology, pharmacology, physics, and statistics.

Cover Art
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) - American Psychiatric Association Staff; Carolyn Kernberger
Call Number: STACKS AND REFERENCE: RC455.2.C4 D54 2013
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.

Your Psych Librarian

Profile Image
Jenny Rosenfeld
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip