This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Graphic Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Graphic Design  

This guide will help you find graphic design resources both in the library and on the web.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2016 URL: http://woodbury.libguides.com/graphic_design Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting Started with Graphic Design

You can find items related to graphic design by searching the library catalog.

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference contains the full-text of 100 reference books - including specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. It's a great place to start if you need help understanding your topic.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Need a book or journal article or even a MOVIE we don't have? You can request it through interlibrary loan. We will borrow a book or get a copy of an article for you from another library and notify you when it arrives. You can request items by filling out an online form or directly through any FirstSearch database (Worldcat, Eric, ArticleFirst).
  • Art Source
    Full text of nearly 650 art-related journals dating back to 1997. Abstracts and indexing of articles back to 1984. Contains full text of journals related to graphic design such as Illustration, Eye, and the International Journal of Design
  • DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
    Over 212,000 abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Several animation and computer art-themed journals are indexed here.
  • Typedia: A Shared Encyclopedia of Typefaces  Icon
    A community-based website with the mission of classifying typefaces and providing forums for discussion. Contains information about each type's designer, foundry, release year, country of origin, classification, original format, distributors, subject tags, historical background, resources, and related links to other sites.
  • Turn of the Century Posters  Icon
    Collected by the NY Public Library, this reflects magazine, newspaper, and book newspapers from 1893 - 1922. Over 1,000 posters searchable by subject or artist.
  • Cary Graphic Arts Collection @ The Wallace Center  Icon
    A premier library on graphic communication history and practices. Includes collections and images about lithography, bookmaking, typography, and more.
 

Graphic Design Call Numbers

Use these numbers to browse our print books most relevant to Graphic Design!

NC997 - NC1003 - This is where most Graphic Design books live, including information on logos & infographics.

NC730-NC825 - These books are on drawing technique books such as human figure drawing, animal anatomy, environments, etc.

NK1160 - NK1590 - General design topics (including the color theory books)

P93.5 - Visual communication theory books

P99 - Semiotics

T385-T386 - These books focus on the technology side of digital art, including books on Photoshop and ZBrush.

Z246 - Here you will find the books on typography, in addition to paper/printing topics.

Many of the technology-focused books that are quickly outdated, like ones on Photoshop and ZBrush, are available as ebooks. Learn how to access those here.

If you're browsing the shelves in these areas, remember to look in both Main Stacks and Oversize books. For graphic design, the really fun books will be the oversized ones!

Remember, you can always ask a librarian for help.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip