This is the "Home" page of the "Fashion Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fashion Design  

This is your guide to finding fashion design resources in the library and online.
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2013 URL: http://woodbury.libguides.com/fashion_design Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Fashion Design Reference Books

Here are some great fashion design resources available in the library reference section!

Cover Art
100 contemporary fashion designers - Jones, Terry
Call Number: TT505 .A1 A147 2009
ISBN: 9783836516860
This two-volume compilation brings together highlights from the renowned "Fashion Now!" books and offers a comprehensive study of fashion design around the world at the beginning of the 21st century.

Cover Art
Fashion, costume, and culture : clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear through the ages - Pendergast, Sara
Call Number: GT511 .P46 2004
ISBN: 0787654175
Information about many specific articles of clothing throughout many different eras. Each brief article also contains a bibliography for further research.

Cover Art
The Dictionary of fashion history - Cumming, Valerie
Call Number: GT507 .C86 2010
ISBN: 9781847885340
"Based on A dictionary of English costume 900-1900 by C.W. and P.E. Cunnington and Charles Beard, now completely revised, updated and supplemented to the present day by Valerie Cumming."

Getting Started with Fashion Design Research

You can find books and DVDs related to fashion design by searching the library catalog.

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference contains the full-text of 100 reference books - including specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. It's a great place to start if you need help understanding your topic.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Need a book or journal article we don't have? You can request it through interlibrary loan. We will borrow a book or get a copy of an article for you from another library and notify you when it arrives. You can request items by filling out an online form or directly through any FirstSearch database (Worldcat, Eric, ArticleFirst).
  • DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
    Abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Some of the topics relevant to fashion design that are covered here include jewelery, textiles, fashion and clothing, and retail design.
 

New Fashion Books in the Library

To find more books about fashion design in the Woodbury Library, search the library catalog.  Also, you can email me to have yourself added to my new title email distribution list. 

Cover Art
Alexander Mcqueen: Evolution - Katherine Gleason
Call Number: TT505 .M35 G54 2012 - OVERSIZE
ISBN: 9781937994006
Publication Date: 2012-10-15
Illustrated throughout with stunning photography and liberally sprinkled with quotations from McQueen and those who knew him best, Alexander McQueen: Evolution is the story of the designer's thirty-five runway shows and the genius behind them.

Cover Art
Fashioning Japanese Subcultures - Yuniya Kawamura
Call Number: GT1560 .K35 2012
ISBN: 9781847889485
Publication Date: 2012-08-07
Based on insightful ethnographic fieldwork in Tokyo, Fashioning Japanese Subcultures is the first theoretical and analytical study on Japan's contemporary youth subcultures and their stylistic expressions.

Cover Art
The Fashion Resource Book - Robert Leach; Shelley Fox (Foreword by)
Call Number: TT508 .L43 2012
ISBN: 9780500290354
Publication Date: 2012-09-07
This comprehensive survey presents the work of a wide range of modern and contemporary designers and reveals the innumerable areas of inspiration and research on which they've drawn, from historical examples such as Christian Dior's "New Look" to traditional textiles from around the world, as seen in John Galliano's Peruvian-inspired collection of 2005. The first part of the book investigates the research process in the work of designers such as Paul Smith, Comme des Garçons, and Anna Sui. The second section covers subjects like vintage and retro, the use of archives, and the influence of art movements such as op art and surrealism. The third part presents case studies of world-famous designers: Jean Paul Gaultier, Christian Dior, Alexander McQueen, and Coco Chanel, to name but a few.

Cover Art
Schiaparelli and Prada - Harold Koda; Andrew Bolton; Judith Thurman (Introduction by)
Call Number: TT505 .S3 K63 2012
ISBN: 9780300179552
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
Blending the historic with the contemporary, the catalogue brings the masterworks of both designers together into a grand conversation between the most important women fashion designers to ever emerge from Italy.

Cover Art
Classic Hollywood Style - Caroline Young
Call Number: PN1995.9 ,C56 .Y69 2012
ISBN: 9780711233751
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Classic Hollywood Style tells the story of some of the most iconic looks from the golden era of Hollywood, covering 34 films from the 1920s to the end of the 1960s. Caroline Young explores how some of cinema's most glamorous costumes were created, describes their enduring influence and offers tips on how to 'get the look' today.

Cover Art
Technical Drawing for Fashion - Basia Szkutnicka; Chronicle Books Staff; Laurence King Publishing Limited Staff
Call Number: TT509 .S95 2010
ISBN: 9781856696180
Publication Date: 2010-04-07
Explains how to create a technical fashion drawing using a simple and straightforward step-by-step method accompanied by some time-saving tips. This method is explained for those who wish to use Adobe Illustrator as well as for those who prefer to draw by hand.

Systems Librarian

Profile Image
Jenny Rosenfeld
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip