Databases for Articles/Research
Websites of Note
APA Citation Style HelpMLA Citation Style HelpIn-text (parenthetical) citationsCitation Generators
Library of Congress ClassificationUsing e-books
Evaluating Information
This is the "Home" page of the "Environmental Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Science  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://woodbury.libguides.com/environmental_science Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles and Journals

Searching for Articles

Proquest contains abstracts and full-text articles.  You can search it directly in the box below.

To browse or find journals available online, try the following places:

We do not have any print environmental science periodicals in the library.

 

Catalog Search

Search for environmental science books and other materials in the library catalog:

 

Browse by call number

Environmental science covers a broad range of disciplines. Books at the Woodbury Library will be located downstairs, in library's annex. Call numbers are arranged alphabetically on the shelves.
 
HD28-9999: Industries. Land use. Labor
GC1-1581: Oceanography
GE1-350: Environmental sciences
GF1-900: Human ecology. Anthropogeography
Q1-390: Science (General)
QD1-999: Chemistry 
QE1-996.5: Geology
QH1-278.5: Natural history (General)
QH301-705.5: Biology (General)
QK1-989: Botany
QL1-991: Zoology
S1-(972): Agriculture (General)
SB1-1110: Plant culture
SD1-669.5: Forestry
SF1-1100: Animal culture
SH1-691: Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
TD1-1066: Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
 

Featured Books

Cover Art
Climate Change Policy in the United States - Dianne Rahm
ISBN: 0786442999
Publication Date: 2009-10-09
This overview of global warming and its human causes examines the international agreements regarding climate change and the U.S. response to those agreements, as well as key provisions of the Kyoto Protocol, to explain the difficulties of any subsequent treaties. Framing the scientific debate against moral, ethical, and religious considerations, the book offers potential solutions. The book includes seven maps and tables, notes, bibliography, and index.

Cover Art
How the Ocean Works - Mark Denny
ISBN: 069112647X
Publication Date: 2008-04-21
The world's oceans account for roughly 71 percent of the planet's surface and 99 percent of its livable volume. Any study of this huge habitat requires a solid foundation in the principles that underlie marine biology and physical and chemical oceanography, yet until now undergraduate textbooks have largely presented compilations of facts rather than explanations of principles. How the Ocean Works fills this gap, providing a concise and accessible college-level introduction to marine science that is also ideal for general readers. How are winds and currents driven? What is the dilemma of the two-layered ocean? Mark Denny explains key concepts like these in rich and fascinating detail. He explores early scientific knowledge of oceans, photosynthesis, trophic interactions and energy flow, and the impacts of human activities on marine and atmospheric systems. Focusing each chapter on a major topic and carefully explaining the principles and theory involved, Denny gives readers the conceptual building blocks needed to develop a coherent picture of the living ocean. How the Ocean Works is an indispensable resource that teaches readers how to think about the ocean--its biology, mechanics, and conservation. Provides a concise, up-to-date introduction to marine science Develops the conceptual basis needed to understand how the ocean works Explains fundamental principles and theory Includes color illustrations and informative diagrams Serves as a college textbook and a reference for general readers

Cover Art
Introduction to Energy in California - Peter Asmus
ISBN: 0520257510
Publication Date: 2009-07-06
This key reference is a primer on energy in a state that continues to lead the world in finding sustainable solutions to one of the most pressing issues of the twenty-first century. While much public debate has focused on fossil fuels, this clearly written guide provides essential information on a broader range of issues#151;where our energy comes from, where future supplies will be found, and what new advances are being made in the area of renewable energy sources. Making the complex world of energy science and policy accessible to a wide audience, Peter Asmus examines the rich human history of California's earliest oil and hydroelectricity developments, explains the natural history underpinning the state's cornucopia of energy sources, covers such controversial sources as nuclear reactors and liquified natural gas, and more. Introduction to Energy in California includes: * Discussion of oil, nuclear power, coal, emerging alternative technologies, and renewable sources including geothermal, solar, wind, and hydropower * Analysis of the challenges and solutions facing California and the world on energy-related issues such as global climate change * Compelling case studies of corporations, governments, communities, and individuals working on today's most pressing energy questions * Color illustrations, useful maps, and clear graphics throughout

Cover Art
Branches - Philip Ball
ISBN: 0199237980
Publication Date: 2009-09-21
As part of a trilogy of books exploring the science of patterns in nature, acclaimed science writer Philip Ball here looks at the form and growth of branching networks in the natural world, and what we can learn from them. Many patterns in nature show a branching form - trees, river deltas, blood vessels, lightning, the cracks that form in the glazing of pots. These networks share a peculiar geometry, finding a compromise between disorder and determinism, though some, like the hexagonalsnowflake or the stones of the Devil's Causeway fall into a rigidly ordered structure. Branching networks are found at every level in biology - from the single cell to the ecosystem. Human-made networks too can come to share the same features, and if they don't, then it might be profitable to make them do so: nature's patterns tend to arise from economical solutions.

Cover Art
The Environment and World History - Edmund Burke (Editor); Kenneth Pomeranz (Editor)
ISBN: 0520256875
Publication Date: 2009-04-08
Since around 1500 C.E., humans have shaped the global environment in ways that were previously unimaginable. Bringing together leading environmental historians and world historians, this book offers an overview of global environmental history throughout this remarkable 500-year period. In eleven essays, the contributors examine the connections between environmental change and other major topics of early modern and modern world history: population growth, commercialization, imperialism, industrialization, the fossil fuel revolution, and more. Rather than attributing environmental change largely to European science, technology, and capitalism, the essays illuminate a series of culturally distinctive, yet often parallel developments arising in many parts of the world, leading to intensified exploitation of land and water. The wide range of regional studies#151;including some in Russia, China, the Middle East, India, Southeast Asia, Latin America, Southern Africa, and Western Europe#151;together with the book's broader thematic essays makes The Environment and World History ideal for courses that seek to incorporate the environment and environmental change more fully into a truly integrative understanding of world history. CONTRIBUTORS: Michael Adas, William Beinart, Edmund Burke III, Mark Cioc, Kenneth Pomeranz, Mahesh Rangarajan, John F. Richards, Lise Sedrez, Douglas R. Weiner

Cover Art
The American Experience in Environmental Protection - Lisa Newton
ISBN: 9783319000503
Publication Date: 2013-03-02

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
The Essentials of the Environment - Joseph Kerski; Simon Ross
ISBN: 9780340816325
Publication Date: 2005-03-31
Environmental issues such as possible climate change, pollution, nuclear waste, water resources, food and famine have a high public as well as political profile. The role that humans may have played in causing some of these problems, as well as some of the things we could do to reduce their impact, are also topics of major interest. The Essentials of the Environment presents a fascinating insight into these subjects and many more, providing general information and informed discussion enhanced by international case studies. The book is illustrated throughout with photographs and figures and comprehensive cross-references guide the reader to related issues. Important technical details are presented in stand-alone boxes and guides to further resources are included for the reader wishing to delve further into particular issues. Anyone concerned about their environment will find this an essential reference addressing all the key issues from oil spills to global warming to genetic engineering. It will also be a great course companion for students for physical geography and the environment.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Earth - John O'Byrne; Robert Coenraads; Michael Allaby; Stephen K. Hutchinson; Karen McGhee
ISBN: 9780520254718
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
This sumptuously illustrated, beautifully written encyclopedia, the best book available on the topic, presents the most up-to-date information about planet Earth in a style and format that will appeal to an extremely wide range of readers. With thousands of photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and maps and a text written by a team of international experts, it presents an impressive overview of our globe—beginning with the history of the universe and ending with today's conservation issues. A truly spectacular reference, The Encyclopedia of Earth offers new visual interpretations of many ideas, concepts, and facts, painting a fascinating picture of Earth today and across the ages. The encyclopedia is divided into six sections that are designed for either browsing or in-depth study. Birth gives an overview of Earth's 4.6-billion-year history, including the evolution of life. Fire explains the inner workings of our dynamic planet, its structure, and the tectonic forces that have molded its landscape. Land surveys rocks, minerals, and habitats. Air covers weather, including extreme weather events such as tornadoes and hurricanes. Water tours the oceans, rivers, and lakes of the world. The final section, Humans, provides a compelling portrait of our relationship with Earth, and of how the natural world has shaped social and political developments. Copub: Weldon Owen Publishing The Encyclopedia of Earth features: * Some of the world's finest landscape photography and hundreds of detailed illustrations and diagrams, cross sections, cutaways, maps, and charts * Coverage of topics including volcanology, paleontology, geology, natural history, cosmology, and more * Simple, easy-to-understand explanations of complex phenomena * The most recent scientific information and conservation data * "Fact files" providing information at readers' fingertips * "Heritage Watch" boxes focusing on key conservation issues and World Heritage sites

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Earth Science - Timothy M. Kusky
ISBN: 0816049734
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Encyclopedia of Earth Science provides a broad scope of important subjects in the field of Earth science - hydrology, structural geology, petrology, isotope geology, geochemistry, geomorphology, and oceanography. Containing approximately 700 entries, 19 prose essays, 110 line illustrations, and 100 black-and-white photographs, this comprehensive encyclopedia is perfect for high school and early college students. Hundreds of entries on concepts, theories and hypotheses, places and events, the major periods of geological time, people who have made significant contributions to the field, technology and instruments, occupations and careers, organizations, field locations, and other subjects round out this comprehensive volume. An ideal reference to the principal areas and issues related to this core area of science, Encyclopedia of Earth Science is extensively cross-referenced and indexed, bringing information quickly and easily to the fingertips of its readers. Entries include convection and the Earth's mantle; Charles Darwin; El Nino and the Southern Oscillation (ENSO); geochronology; Gondwana, Gondwanaland; Himalayan Mountains; jet streams; life's origins and early evolution; metamo

Cover Art
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology - Andrew Porteous
ISBN: 9780470997826
Publication Date: 2008-04-30
This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader. The new edition will be a major update with 30% new material, additional illustrations and a greatly expanded list of relevant web resources.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Nedra Peterson, Director of the Library
Contact Info
Woodbury University
7500 Glenoaks Blvd.
Burbank, CA 91510
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
David Davis
Contact Info
Reference Desk: 818-252-5201 (to reach librarian at desk)
Cell: 323-743-3393
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip