This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication  

This is your guide to communication-related resources in the library and online.
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://woodbury.libguides.com/communication Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Comm Books in the Library

Cover Art
Gender, race, and class in media: a critical reader - Dines, Gail (Ed.)
Call Number: P94.65 .U6 G46 2011
ISBN: 9781412974417
Publication Date: 2011
Consists of 65 readings - book chapters and journal articles - dealing with the cultural studies approach to media.

Cover Art
Digital youth: the role of media in development - Subrahmanyam, Kaveri
Call Number: HQ799.2 .M35 S88 2011
ISBN: 9781441962775
Publication Date: 2011
examines the ways in which adolescents approach digital media and how digital media may be shaping adolescents' development.

Cover Art
Mixed media : moral distinctions in advertising, public relations, and journalism - Bivins, Thomas H
Call Number: P94 .B53 2009 Stacks
ISBN: 9780805863215
"Introduces readers to the tools necessary for making moral and ethical decisions regarding the use of mass media."

Getting Started with Communication Research

You can find books and DVDs related to communication by searching the library catalog.

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference contains the full-text of 100 reference books - including subject-specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. It's a great place to start if you need help understanding your topic.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    This database contains the full-text of articles from over 400 communication journals. It also includes a subject thesaurus to assist you in searching using the appropriate terminology.
  • CQ Researcher
    Contains in-depth, unbiased reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Content is updated weekly. A good place to begin exploring a topic.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. A good place to begin exploring a topic.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Need a book or journal article we don't have? You can request it through interlibrary loan. We will borrow a book or get a copy of an article for you from another library and notify you when it arrives. You can request items by filling out an online form or directly through any FirstSearch database (Worldcat, Eric, ArticleFirst).
 

Communication Reference Books

Here are some great library resources for communication students.  They are not available for check-out, so they should always be on the shelves for you to consult. 

Cover Art
Glossary of semiotics - Colapietro, Vincent Michael
Call Number: P99 .C569 1993
ISBN: 1557785643
This compact resource is a key to the specialized vocabulary of a growing international community of scholars in philosophy, anthropology, literature, cultural studies, cinema, and women's studies. Clear, straightforward definitions shed light on the semiotic texts of Peirce, Saussure, Levi-Strauss, Barthes, Eco, Kristeva, Derrida, Irigaray, and others.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of international media and communications - Johnston, Donald H.
Call Number: P87.5 .E535 2003
ISBN: 0123876702
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, and avenues for further research.

Systems Librarian

Profile Image
Jenny Rosenfeld
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip