This is the "APA Citation Style" page of the "Citation Style Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Style Guides  

Last Updated: Jun 16, 2011 URL: http://woodbury.libguides.com/citation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

APA Citation Style Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

APA Style Manual in Print

Cover Art
Concise Rules of APA style - American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .C66 2010 (Stacks & Ref Desk)

 

  RefWorks for APA Reference Lists

Refworks is a citation manager that allows you to create or import your references for your classes, create reference lists, cite your sources in-text, and organize and store them for as long as you are a student at Woodbury.

If you would like to learn more about Refworks, or forgot what we covered in class, check out these tutorials.

 

Guide to APA Style Bibliographic Citations

General Guidelines

  • Your list of references should begin on a separate page with the title "References" and appear at the end of your paper.
  • Arrange entries alphabetically, using the last name of the author. If no author is given, alphabetize by the title, eliminating any initial A, An, or The.
  • Begin each entry at the left margin. If the information requires more than one line, indent the following lines one-half inch from the left margin.
  • Double-space within each entry, and between each entry.
  • Follow carefully the punctuation, underlining, and capitalization in the examples. Note that the sixth edition of the APA Publication Manual calls for only one space after a period or colon.

Book with one author:

Author's last name, A. A. (date of publication). Title italicized. Publication location:

      Publishing company.

Example:

Krier, L. (2009). Drawing for architecture. Cambridge, MA: MIT.

_______________________________________________________________________

Book with two authors:

First author's last name, A.A., & Second author's last name, B.B. (date of publication).

      Title italicized. Publication location: Publishing company.

Example:

Harmon, S. K., & Kennon, K. E. (2008). The codes guidebook for interiors.

      Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons.

_______________________________________________________________________

Books with three to six authors:

List all authors by last names and intials; separate each author's name with commas; precede

      the last author name with an ampersand. Title italicized. Publication location: Publishing

      company, year.

Example:

Qian, K., Fu, X., Tao, L., & Diaz-Herrera, J. (2009). Software architecture and design

      illuminated. Sudbury, MA: Jones & Bartlett Publishers.

_______________________________________________________________________

Book with an editor:

Editor's last name, A. A. (Ed.). (Publication date). Title italicized. Publication location:

      Publishing company.

Example

Newland, J. N. (Ed.). (1992). Johnson, Kaufmann, Coate: Partners in the California

      style. Claremont, CA: Scripps College.

_______________________________________________________________________

Article or chapter in an edited book: This also includes essays and short stories in anthologies.

Author's last name, A.A. (Publication date). Title of entry. In Editor's First initial Middle initial Last

      name (Ed.), Title of the book (page numbers). Publication location: Publishing company.

Example:

Orwell, G. (1994). Such, such were the joys. In P. Lopate (Ed.), The art of the personal essay: An

      anthology from the classical era to the present (pp. 268-302). New York: Anchor-Doubleday.

_______________________________________________________________________

Article from a reference book, encyclopedia, or dictionary -- not signed:

Title of article or entry. (Publication year). Title of reference work (Volume number, page

      numbers). Publication location: Publishing company.

Example:

Los Angeles. (1998). The new encyclopaedia Britannica: Macropaedia (Vol. 7, pp. 484-

      485). Chicago: Encyclopaedia Britannica.

_______________________________________________________________________

Article from a reference book, encyclopedia, or dictionary -- signed:

Author's last name, A. A. (Publication date). Title of article or entry. In Editor's First initial Middle

      initial and Last name (Ed.), Title of reference work in italics (Volume number, page numbers).

      Publication location: Publishing company.

Example:

Turner, T. F. (1902). Mission. In R. Sturgis (Ed.), A dictionary of architecture and

      building (Vol. 2, p. 913). New York: Macmillan.

_______________________________________________________________________

 Article from a newspaper:

Author's last name, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Name of Newspaper in Italics.

      page number(s).

Example:

Brownstein, R. (2004, May 2). Presidential campaigns may play cameo role.

      Los Angeles Times, pp. A1, A26.

_______________________________________________________________________

Article from a journal with continuous pagination:

Author's last name, A. A. (Publication year). Title of article.

      Journal Title in Italics, volume number, page numbers.

Example:

Faragher, J. M. (2001). Bungalow and ranch house: The architectural backwash of

      California. Western Historical Quarterly, 32, 149-173.

_______________________________________________________________________

Article from a popular magazine:

Author's last name, A. A. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of article.

      Title of Magazine in Italics, page numbers.

Example:

Mezrich, B. (2003, May). To live and die in L.A. Wired, 11(5), 131-135.

_______________________________________________________________________

Article from an online full-text database:

Author's last name, A. A. (Publication date). Title of article. Title of Journal Where

      Article Originally Appeared, volume #(issue #), page numbers. Retrieved from

      database name.

Example:

Kellogg, C. (2003, March). Looks count. Interior Design, 74(3), 208-213. Retrieved from

      Wilson Omnifile database.

_______________________________________________________________________

Article from an online full-text database with more than six authors:

Author’s last name, A. A. (Author last names and initials of the first six authors) followed

      by the note et al. (Publication date). Title of article. Title of Journal Where Article Originally

      Appeared, volume #(issue #), page numbers. Retrieved from database name.

Example:

Wolchik, S. A., West, S. G., Sandler, I. N., Tein, J., Coatsworth, D., Lengua, L., et. al.

      (2000). An experimental evaluation of theory-based mother and mother-child programs for

      children of divorce. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 68(5), 843-856. Retrieved

       from PsycArticles database.

 _______________________________________________________________________

Entire Journal:

Journal Title Italicized. (Beginning publication date). Publication location:

      Publishing company.

Example:

Fashion Theory. (1997). Oxford : Berg Publishers.

_______________________________________________________________________

Webpage:

Author's last name, A. A. (Date of page). Title of the web page. Title of the website.

      Retrieved Month Day, Year, from complete URL with no period at the end

Example:

Matthews, K. (2008). W.E. Oliver House. Great buildings online. Retrieved

      November 5, 2009, from http://www.greatbuildings.com/buildings/W._E._Oliver_House.html

 _______________________________________________________________________

Please visit http://www.apastyle.org/apa-style-help.aspx or pages 193-224 of the APA Publication

Manual 6th edition for more detailed information concerning electronic resources.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip