This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2014 URL: http://woodbury.libguides.com/anthropology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Wordle: Definition of Anthropology - Columbia Encyclopedia

Use this guide as a starting point for your research.  If you have questions or need further assistance, please contact me.  You can email me directly (or chat with me if I'm online) via the information in the box on the right.

Getting Started with Anthropology Research

You can find books and DVDs related to anthropology by searching the library catalog:

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference contains the full-text of 100 reference books - including subject-specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. It's a great place to start if you need help understanding your topic. There are several anthropology-specific texts in Credo, including Contemporary Youth Culture: An international encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology, and the Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender.
  • Project Muse
    Full-text and abstracts of scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. There are a few strictly anthropology titles included here (Anthropological Quarterly, Human Biology, and Asian Perspectives). However, other titles, like Journal of Higher Education and Journal of College Student Development often include ethnographic-type studies of college life.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest is a great general coverage database - with lots of full-text scholarly/academic journal articles, newspaper articles, popular magazine articles, and trade publications.
  • Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select
    Like ProQuest, Wilson is a good general interest database. There are many full text scholarly articles. Some of the Anthropology journals with full-text in this database include Chinese Sociology and Anthropology, Cultural Critique, and Nomadic Peoples.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    Journals in communication are frequently some of the most helpful in anthropological research. This database contains scholarly journals as well as more substantial popular magazines in the field of communication and media. If you are researching media or a particular television program, this database will be very helpful.
 

Anthropology Reference Books in the Library

These books can be used as reference materials to get you started (even though they don't all reside in the reference section of the library!).  They can be helpful for getting a better understanding on subject matter or developing a topic with more specific information.

Cover Art
Cultural Anthropology - JoAnn Jacoby; Josephine Kibbee
Call Number: GN42 .J33 2007 (Stacks)
ISBN: 9781591583578
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
The latest edition of a major literature guide provides citations and informative annotations on a wide range of reference sources, including manuals, bibliographies, indexes, databases, literature surveys and reviews, dissertations, book reviews, conference proceedings, awards, and employment and grant sources. The organization closely follows that of the 1st edition, with some much-needed additions relating to online resources and new areas of interest within the field (such as forensic anthropology, environmental anthropology, and Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, and Transgendered Anthropology). Separate sections focus on individual subfields, as well as emerging concerns such as ethical issues in cultural heritage preservation.

Cover Art
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research - Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Yvonna S. Lincoln (Editor)
Call Number: H62 .H2455 2005 (Stacks)
ISBN: 0761927573
Publication Date: 2005-04-08
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, Third Edition, represents the state of art for the theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Built on the foundations of the landmark First and Second Editions (1994, 2000), the Third Edition moves qualitative research boldly into the 21st century. The editors and authors ask how the practices of qualitative inquiry can be used to address issues of social justice in this new century.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Anthropology - H. James Birx (Editor)
Call Number: GN11 .E63 2006 V.1 - V.5 (Reference)
ISBN: 0761930299
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. The contributions are authored by over 250 internationally renowned experts, professors, and scholars from some of the most distinguished museums, universities, and institutes in the world. Special attention is given to human evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, sociocultural theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.

Systems Librarian

Profile Image
Jenny Rosenfeld
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip