Call Number: NC1764.8 .D63 K75 2012 (STACKS)
Publication Date: 2011-11-29
. Animated Realism presents animation techniques as they apply to the documentary genre with an inspirational behind-the-scenes look at award-winning animated documentaries. Animators and documentary filmmakers alike will learn how to develop a visual style with animation, translate a graphic novel into a documentary and use 3D animation as a storytelling tool, all in the context of creating animated documentaries.
Animated Realism includes interviews from industry luminaries like John Canemaker, Oscar Winning Director of The Moon and the Son, Yoni Goodman, Animation Director of Oscar Nominated Waltz with Bashir and Chris Landreth, Oscan Winning creator of Ryan. Packed with beautiful, instructive illustrations and previously unpublished material (including storyboards, photos and hand-drawn sketches) and interspersed with interviews - this is an exceptional source of inspiration and knowledge for animators, students and fans alike. With a companion website featuring animated shorts from leading animated documentaries, animators, students and documentary filmmakers will be able to analyze and apply Oscar-winning animation techniques to their own films.
Photoshop 3D for Animators
Call Number: TR897.7 .E356 2011 (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2010-11-04
With Photoshop 3D for Animators, explore the new 3D tools and techniques that will enhance your animation pipeline and workflows with the Adobe Suite softwares, including After Effects and Flash. Learn to manipulate 3D images as well as import 3D content from the Adobe creative suite. With in-depth, step-by-step tutorials, explore lighting, digital painting, texturing and rendering for 2D and 3D the power of Adobe Photoshop software. Enhance your digital workflow and expand your expertise with this hands-on guide to Photoshop. Includes a DVD with source files, working samples and models.
Watch Me Move
Call Number: NC1765 .W38 2011 (STACKS)
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
Watch Me Move presents an extensive selection of animated imagery created over the past 100 years, from Felix the Cat, Mickey Mouse and Betty Boop to Astro Boy, South Park and Avatar, and covers a wide range of techniques, including hand-drawn, stop-motion, computer animation and more experimental forms. Organized thematically, the book explores the emergence of animation, its well-loved characters, heroes and villains, its myths and fables, dramatic narratives and alternative realities. With essays by animation experts and biographies of the leading studios and animators, Watch Me Move is the definitive guide to the dynamic world of the animated image.
You can find books and DVDs related to animation by searching the library catalog.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains the full-text of 100 reference books - including specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. It's a great place to start if you need help understanding your topic.
- Interlibrary Loan
Need a book or journal article or even a MOVIE we don't have? You can request it through interlibrary loan. We will borrow a book or get a copy of an article for you from another library and notify you when it arrives. You can request items by filling out an online form or directly through any FirstSearch database (Worldcat, Eric, ArticleFirst).
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Over 212,000 abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Several animation and computer art-themed journals are indexed here.
- Animation Career Review
"THE source for aspiring animation, design, and gaming professionals seeking info on training programs, schools and colleges, software and technology, career profiles, profiles of the leading industry firms, and more."
Call Number: NC1765 .A534 2009 (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2009-10-05
Animation -- Art and Industry is an introductory reader covering a broad range of animation studies topics, focusing on both American and international contexts. It provides information about key individuals in the fields of both independent and experimental animation, and introduces a variety of topics relevant to the critical study of media -- censorship, representations of gender and race, and the relationship between popular culture and fine art. Essays span the silent era to the present, include new media such as web animation and gaming, and address animation made using a variety of techniques.
Call Number: NC1765 .L47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-02
In addition to over eighty photographs and illustrations, Directing Animation includes insider tips and firsthand experience from animators, directors, and producers, revealing the best ways to manage the production process while creating a workplace that is both efficient and fun.
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
"The Lion King. Spirited Away." Wallace and Gromit. "Toy Story 2." What makes these animated movies great? The stories they tell, and the ways those stories are told. Animation can go where no other filmmaking can, and great scriptwriting can take animation where no other movies have. "Basics Animation: Scriptwriting," the follow-up to the successful title "The" "Fundamentals of Animation," looks at a variety of approaches to scriptwriting for animation using vivid examples from great animated movies. Author Paul Wells explores the distinctive qualities of animation as a form of creative expression and explains the choices and approaches available to the scriptwriter, the animator, and the director.